Dien Bien Overview

Dien Bien is among the six mountainous provinces in Northwestern Vietnam. The district is next to Lai Chau and Son La provinces and has long borders with China to the North and Laos to West. Dien Bien City is located inside the heart-shaped Muong Thanh Valley, surrounded by numerous thick forests, high mountains, narrow valleys and springs. The climate of Dien Bien is mountainous tropical whose temperature may fall below 0oC in cold season, while the highest temperature fluctuates around 28oC in hot season.
A province in north-western Vietnam, Dien Bien adjoins Lai Chau Province and Son La Province of Vietnam, Van Nam Province of China and Phongsali province of Laos. It is constituted by 7 districts named Dien Bien, Dien Bien Dong, Muong Ang, Muong Cha, Muong Nhe, Tua Chua, Tuan Giao. The capital of the province is Dien Bien Phu, a city most known for its long and victorious history against French colonists on 7/5/1954

Dien Bien